Jody began his career as a briefing attorney for the Honorable Don Reavis, Justice of the 7th Court of Appeals in Amarillo. Following his one year term with the Court of Appeals, Jody went into private practice and focused on consumer and commercial litigation and appeals.

Jody has extensive litigation experience in most counties in the states of Texas and New Mexico. Jody’s practice includes both collection efforts and defense work for entities and lawyers being sued under the various state and federal consumer protection statutes as well as the practice areas listed below.

Areas of Practice:

  • Business and Commercial Litigation
  • Consumer Litigation focusing on Creditor’s Rights in both Texas and New Mexico state and federal courts
  • Appeals
  • Insurance Defense
  • Personal Injury
  • Construction Litigation
  • Estate Litigation
  • Property Tax Litigation
  • Civil Litigation
  • Bankruptcy and Creditor’s rights

Bar Admissions:

  • U.S. Supreme Court
  • Texas 2001
  • New Mexico 2005
  • U.S. District Court, Northern District of Texas
  • U.S. District Court, Western District of Texas
  • U.S. District Court, Southern District of Texas
  • U.S. District Court, Eastern District of Texas
  • U.S. District Court, New Mexico
  • U.S. District Court, Western District of Michigan
  • U.S. District Court, Colorado
  • U.S. District Court, Western District of Oklahoma
  • U.S. Court of Appeals, 5th Circuit


  • Texas Tech University, BS Agriculture and Applied Economics 1998
  • Texas Tech University School of Law, JD 2000

Past Employment Positions:

  • Briefing Attorney, The Honorable Don Reavis, 7th Court of Appeals, Amarillo, Texas (2001-2002)
  • Partner-McCleskey, Harriger, Brazill & Graf, L.L.P. (2002-2011)
  • Jenkins & Young, P.C. (2011- Present)

Memberships and Affiliations:

  • Recipient, Outstanding Young Lawyer Award, Lubbock County (2008-2009)
  • President, Lubbock County Young Lawyers Association (2008-2009)
  • Officer and Director, Lubbock County Young Lawyers (2003-2008)
  • Lubbock Area Bar Association (President 2018-2019)
  • National Creditors Bar Association
  • Texas Creditors Bar Association (President 2018-2019)


  • Born Abilene, 1976